Feature Ad (728)

Latest In

2015 Mindanao Photography Competition Winners announced

The National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and Mindanao State University- General Santos has revealed the winners of the 2015 Mindanao Photography Competition, with photographer from Mati City, Davao Oriental Eden Jhan Licayan's entry titled "Kalindugan Festival" winning the 1st Prize (P50,000).

Alfred John Michael Yap from General Santos City bagged the 2nd Prize (P30,000) with his entry entitled "Labor of Survival" while William Chin from Davao City took home the 3rd Prize (P15,000) with his entry entitled "Towards a Common Goal".

The announcement of winners and awarding ceremony of the first-ever Mindanao-wide photography competition was held in Veranza in General Santos City on Sunday, May 25, 2015. Below is the complete list of winners.

Top 3
1st Prize
Kalindugan Festival
Eden Jhan Licayan 

2nd Prize
Labor of Survival
Alfred John Michael Yap

3rd Prize
Towards a Common Goal
William Chin

Jury Prize
Tito Santillana ( Facing the Challenges in Life )
Jayruh Dela Cruz ( River of Resiliency )

Special Citation
Charwin Acebuche ( Bountiful Harvest )
Danny Pelaez ( Handyman )
Katrina Tagaloguin ( Mindanaoan's be Like )
Stanley Aguilar ( Golden Hour, Our Gold Mine )
Shem Longakit ( Pundok sa Kadagkuan )

Special Choice ( Non Jury Selection )
Russel Delvo ( Kinabuhing Bagol )

LET- Secondary Level topnotcher is a registered nurse from Kidapawan City

Another Cotabateña has made her kababayan proud.

Herminigilda Cabrera-Notario, 32-year old and a registered nurse from Kidapawan City topped the March 2015 Licensure Exam for Teachers (L.E.T.)- Secondary Level with a score of 91.40 percent.
“Even if I finished my first course, I have not stopped dreaming of becoming a teacher someday” said Notario in an interview.
LET- Secondary Level topnotcher is a registered nurse from Kidapawan City

The 32-year old topnotcher and a mother of two children is a graduate of the College of Nursing
at the North Valley College Foundation, Inc in Kidapawan City. She completed 18 units of education at the Central Mindanao Colleges (CMC).

On May 23, 2015, the Professional Regulation Commission announced that a total of 17,904 
out of 56,596 examinees successfully passed the board exam for secondary teachers.

ALSO READ: MSU- Gensan, NDDU and NDMU grads in Top 10 of March 2015 
board exam for teachers

10 Must-Visit Places in SOX (SOCCSKSARGEN)

There is no doubt SOX or SOCCSKSARGEN Region is one of the country's 
most beautiful places.

Composed of four provinces, five cities and a total of 45 towns, the region has been gifted with some of the most amazing tourist attractions, best sights and activities. Below are just 10
places to visit in SOX, there are many, many more and it's up to you to discover them.

1. Lake Sebu
Cool climate all year round, Seven Waterfalls, the 7 Falls Zipline Adventure, Tnalak weaving and the Tboli tribe, and the three lakes namely; Lake Sebu, Lake Lahit and Lake Seloton - all these
and more can be found and experienced  in the town dubbed as the "Summer Capital of
Southern Mindanao".Lake Sebu was also named as one of the Philippines' top 10 emerging
destinations in 2013.

2. Asik- Asik Falls
Located in Alamada, Cotabato Province, Asik-Asik Falls is a curtain-like spring falls that is about 200-meter wide.

3. White Sand Beaches of Glan, Sarangani
Situated mostly in Gumasa, these white sand beaches in Glan is where Sarangani Bay Festival 
or Sarbay Fest,  the biggest beach party in the country is being held every year.

4. Baras Bird Sanctuary
The Baras Bird Sanctuary is just a 1.3-hectare of land planted with kakawate trees but is 
home to more than 20,000 endemic and migratory birds. No need to go far to enjoy birding. 
The sanctuary is located just 7 kilometers away from Tacurong City proper.

5. Grand Mosque in Cotabato City
Located in Cotabato City, the Masjid Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah or the Grand Mosque is the biggest and grandest mosque in the country.

6. Lake Agco in Kidapawan City
Coined as the "Garden of Eden" of Kidapawan City, this popular destination is located in Brgy. Ilomavis at the foot of Mt. Apo. Lake Agco is frequented by tourists because of the breathtaking view of the boiling lake, the mud pool, and the hot and warm pools in nearby resorts.

7. White Water River Tubing in Maitum
Experience the heart-pounding 1.6 kilometer white water river tubing adventure  in Pangi River-one of the cleanest rivers in the country.

8. Tboli, South Cotabato
Visit this town in South Cotabato named after the Tboli tribe. Experience nature at its best by climbing Mt. Melibingoy and enjoy an overnight stay in Lake Holon. The crater lake of Mt. Melibingoy is a favorite camping destination for adventure enthusiasts and was adjudged 
one of the cleanest inland body of water in the country.Other attractions in Tboli includes 
Bakngob, Hidak Falls, Lamhaku Hot Springs and many others. 

9. Mt. Apo
The country's highest mountain peak - Mt. Apo  can be accessed via the trails in Kidapawan 
City, Magpet and Makilala towns in North Cotabato.

10. Mt. Matutum
Photo by Rodson Matulac
Located in South Cotabato, Mt. Matutum is SOCCSKSARGEN Region's most notable landmark.
At its base is a vast pineapple plantation which spans more than 12,000 hectares. Enjoy taking pictures or climb to its peak.

Top 10 Richest Senators, Congressmen in the Philippines 2015

Sarangani Congressman Manny Pacquiao and Senator Cynthia Villar still topped the list of richest members of the House of Representative and the Senate respectively. This is according to their  latest Statement of Assets, Liabilities, and Net worth (SALN).
Villar, Pacquiao richest lawmakers in the Philippines
The following is the list of top 10 richest congressmen and senators of the Philippines based on their 2014 SALN.

Top 10 Richest Congressmen in the Philippines  (2015)

1. Rep. Manny Paquiao – P1.688 billion
2. Rep. Feliciano Belmonte Jr. – P921.559 million
3. Rep. Imelda Marcos – P917.8 million
4. Rep. Alfred Benitez – P845.928 million
5. Rep. Julio Ledesma IV – P617.326 million
6. Rep. Emeline Aglipay – P689.005 million
7. Rep. Mark Villar – P689.005 million
8. Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez – P474.766 million
9. Rep. Joel Roy Duavit – P317.975 million
10. Rep. Enrique Cojuangco Jr. – P220.572 million.

Top 10 Richest Senators  in the Philippines (2015)

1. Cynthia Villar – P1.98 billion (P1.63 billion in 2013)
2. Ralph Recto – P522.0 million (P496.9 million in 2013)
3. Ferdinand ‘Bongbong’ Marcos Jr. – P200.5 million (P197.5 million in 2013)
4. Jinggoy Estrada – P192.8 million (P195 million in 2013)
5. Ramon ‘Bong’ Revilla Jr. – P161.9 million (P166.7 million in 2013)
6. Juan Ponce Enrile – P121.1 million (P119.4 million in 2013)
7. Teofisto Guingona III – P113.4 million (P114.9 million in 2013)
8. Sergio Osmeña III – P100.7 million (P114.3 million in 2013)
9. Juan Edgardo Angara – P100.4 million (P97.8 million in 2013)
10. Grace Poe – P89.5 million (P148.9 million in 2013)

Popular Posts